Untold: Stereo Freeze

Having produced music in a bedroom studio for years as a young 20 something, Untold is now releasing some of the finest boundary pushing records in his field.

Jack Dunning’s largest record to date is a 6 track EP entitled ‘Gonna Work It Out Fine’ produced on his own label, Hemlock Records, which proved to be a great showcase for his distinguishable sound. His new release however, is out on R&S Records this coming Monday 8th November.

The title track; Stereo Freeze is contradictory to its name. This tune is inventive and relentless – making me feel guilty that I’m fighting the urge to move my feet and bob my head at my desk whilst listening through a pair of headphones. The throbbing bass line coupled with squelching beats is brilliantly lifted by the unexpected use of off-key piano chords. I can’t wait to hear this played over a big system in a sweaty club somewhere.

The B-side, Mass Dreams Of The Future on first impression feels like a faint echo of the first track; calm and collected – to a certain degree. As suggested by the title, it’s rather dreamy intro lures the listener into a false sense of security, unless you’re familiar with Untold’s production that is. For those that have heard his works, expect nothing short of a bouncy electronic rhythm layered with jagged synth patterns over a throbbing bass line that gains momentum as the track builds.

Dunning’s records have firmly cemented his reputation for taking his experimental sound to the next level and this record will not disappoint, Untold’s fans are sure to be awaiting the debut album with bated breath (which we hear is on its way).

For more info check out Untold’s MySpace or to purchase Stereo Freeze visit R&S Records.

Be Sociable, Share!

Posted on by jennie

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertise on the site | Send in Reviews | Let us know about upcoming events

Site by studioname & Edward Lewis

© Disconnected 2010 - 2024